Find out more about our partnership opportunities today


If you’re a homeowner in Florida, you may have heard about the 4-point inspection. This is a standard type of inspection required by most insurance companies in the state.

However, some homeowners are still unaware of what it entails and why it’s necessary. In this post, we’ll discuss the 4-point inspection and why it’s essential for homeowners in Florida.


A 4-point inspection focuses on only four significant areas of a home — the roof, plumbing, electrical, and HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) system. As a result, the inspection isn’t a complete home inspection but a smaller, more targeted one that insurance companies typically require, especially for homes over 15 years old.

1. Roof Inspection

The roof’s condition is one of the essential aspects to consider when purchasing a property. A roof in terrible shape can cost money to repair or replace.

During a 4-point inspection, the inspector will evaluate the roof’s condition, including the type of materials used, age, and any visible signs of damage or wear and tear. They’ll also assess if the roof is structurally sound, missing any components, or has any leaks that could cause water damage or mold growth. Additionally, inspectors will estimate the remaining useful life of the roof, which will determine the eligibility for coverage with many insurance companies.

2. Plumbing Inspection

Plumbing is another vital aspect that a 4-point inspection covers. The plumbing in a home should be safe, functional, and up-to-date.

During the inspection, the plumbing inspector will evaluate the pipes, connections, and fixtures, including the water heater, water supply, and drainage systems. The inspection will also check for signs of leaks, corrosion, or any plumbing-related issues that could put the home at risk.

A 4-point home inspection report will provide valuable insights into the plumbing system’s condition, which is critical for potential home buyers to make an informed decision and uncover potential problems for existing homeowners.

3. Electrical Inspection

Another component included in a 4-point inspection is the home’s electrical system. A safe electrical system is essential for everyday living and could significantly threaten your safety if it’s not in good shape.

The inspection ensures that all electrical installations and fixtures in the home meet the safety standards and codes. The inspector will evaluate the condition and capacity of the electrical panel, wiring, circuit breakers, outlets, switches, grounding, etc. The 4-point inspection report will provide critical information on the electrical system’s condition and ensure that it is safe and up-to-date.

4. HVAC Inspection

The HVAC system is crucial in maintaining a comfortable living environment in your home. During a 4-point inspection, the inspector will evaluate the HVAC system, including the furnace, air conditioner, heat pump, ventilation, and ductwork.

They will also check for signs of wear and tear, corrosion, leaks, or damaged components that could threaten the home’s inhabitants. A 4-point inspection report must evaluate the HVAC system’s condition and ensure it functions correctly.

Why is a 4-Point Inspection Required?

Florida insurance companies often require a 4-point inspection before issuing a policy, which means homeowners potentially must have one before acquiring home insurance. While it may seem inconvenient, this inspection is necessary for a good reason.

4-Point inspections allow the insurance company to understand the condition of the home they will be insuring. By assessing the condition of the four major components, the insurance company can accurately determine the level of risk involved in insuring the home. Ultimately, this helps protect both the insurance company and the homeowner from potential claims and hazards.

How Much Does A 4-Point Inspection Cost In Florida?

Typically, 4-point inspections cost between $75 and $150 in Florida. However, it’s essential to remember that pricing can vary depending on where you live in the state, the size of your home, and other factors.

What If Your Home Fails A 4-Point Inspection?

Buying a new home can be an exciting and nerve-wracking experience, especially when it comes to passing a 4-point inspection. However, what happens if your home doesn’t pass the inspection?

Fortunately, some insurance companies may be willing to cover your home…but under certain conditions. In such cases, the insurance policy may exclude coverage for the system that poses a risk or may require you to fix the problem system before coverage begins. Remember, the insurance company’s goal is to ensure your safety and minimize risk, so it’s vital to ensure your home is in good condition before purchasing insurance.


Wind mitigation inspections apply mainly to Florida homeowners since the area experiences high winds and storms. In a wind mitigation inspection, the inspector assesses multiple areas, including the roofing system, windows, doors, and garage doors.

The inspection examines how well a home can withstand strong wind and rain. Factors such as how the roof is attached to the home’s structure, the type of reinforcements present, and the building quality are evaluated to determine your home is security during a high-wind event.

While a 4-point inspection focuses on the safety of 4 essential areas, the wind mitigation inspection is geared more towards improving a home’s ability to withstand winds. Wind mitigation inspections aren’t necessary for all homes, but it’s crucial to consider if you want to secure your home investment.

Why Are These Inspections Important for Homeowners?

Home inspections are fundamental for securing the condition of a home. The assessments evaluate your home’s safety and potential issues and estimate repair costs.

When you buy a home insurance policy, the insurance agents typically request an inspection report. The policy is ultimately based on the result of house inspections and how risky the house is to ensure. And a more secure home means lower insurance rates.

Which Inspection is Right for Your Home?

Your home’s age, location, potential risks, and insurance policy can determine which inspection is best suited for your property. But it’s essential to hire certified professionals to conduct these inspections. Experienced inspectors will provide an extensive report, detailed information on the inspection’s outcome, and recommendations to improve your home. 

In summary, a 4-point inspection is a targeted inspection required by Florida insurance companies. It covers four critical areas — roofing, plumbing, electrical and HVAC systems. While it may seem unnecessary, it can catch potential issues before they become actual problems, saving you money in the long run. If you’re a homeowner in Florida, a 4-point inspection is essential for protecting you and your property.

If you need help finding the best Florida homeowners insurance coverage for the best price, start by speaking to a SimplyIOA agent at 833.872.4467 or get a homeowners insurance quote online now.

share this post